The Southwold Sailors’ Reading Room
The Southwold Sailors’ Reading Room was built in 1864 as a refuge for fishermen and mariners when not engaged at sea, as an endeavour to keep them out of the pubs and encourage them in Christian ideals.
This large room was designed with a hinged wooden partition, which nowadays is permanently closed to form a recreational room and a small museum. Displays of a seafaring nature line the walls and fill glass cabinets. Pictures and portraits of local fishermen and seascapes, model ships and maritime paraphernalia offer a fascinating history of Southwold’s connections with the sea.
Don’t Miss the ship figureheads – beautifully carved and colourful.
- East Cliff